Expose (Dr. Schwartzman #3) by Danielle Girard


KK Conley Review:

Click image to order from Amazon

This is the third in a series about Anna Schwartzman, a San Francisco medical examiner. I enjoyed reading this book because I cared about the characters and the threats against them were believable.

On the way to a crime scene late at night, Schwartzman sees a Jeep parked on the roadside in Golden Gate Park. She notices the Jeep because a young boy in the passenger seat is excited by Anna’s dog, Buster. She also sees a woman in the driver’s seat who is found murdered and naked in the park following morning. There is no trace of the young boy or the Jeep. The author shows the fear Anna has for the child, and her writing is good enough to strike fear in the reader for the safety of the child.

Like any good suspense novel, secrets are exposed. The reader is given information that the detective and Anna don’t have, but I was turning every page to see what happened next. While some of the story is predictable, there are enough plot twists to surprise the reader as secrets are revealed. And more bodies are found, and more characters go missing.

Unlike most authors, Ms. Girard writes about the religion of Anna Schwartzman, her protagonist, and more about the faith of the first murder victim. The author writes about Islam without becoming preachy, or at least not too preachy about discrimination against Muslims in this country.

A subplot in this novel deals with Anna’s psychopathic ex-husband who remains across the country. This character is the only one in the book that seems over the top to me. Otherwise, the rest of the book is an excellent stand-alone novel.

Warning: as the third in a series, there are references to what happened in the previous books, and a hook to the next novel that is scheduled for publication in mid-2019. I am not fond of cliff-hanger book endings, but they do allow for character arcs over a series rather than in a single novel.

Overall, Expose is well-written and a good read.

Booklist Online Review:

Not available

Amazon Description & Rating:

Examining the dead will help her solve present crimes and uncover past secrets in this page-turner thriller for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Rizzoli and Isles.

With her vindictive ex-husband out of prison, San Francisco medical examiner Annabelle Schwartzman is trying harder than ever to move on with her life—by focusing on her job to speak for the victims who can’t. Summoned to a homicide in Golden Gate Park, she realizes that she’d seen the victim just hours before, alive and well in a parked Jeep with a small boy. Now, the woman has been stabbed to death and stripped of her burka, and the child is nowhere to be found.

When an African American student is found dead, bearing knife wounds identical to those of the woman in the park, the press jumps on them as hate crimes. If only they were so easy to explain. There is a connection—but Schwartzman believes it’s something even worse. Her fears are confirmed with the discovery of the next victim.

Now, to stop a vicious killer whose work has only just begun, Schwartzman and Detective Hal Harris must untangle the twisted thread that links it all to the missing boy and a crime buried in the past.

4.3 Stars out of 5.0

Goodreads Rating:

4.46 Stars out of 5.00 for this book

Author of 10 novels with an average rating of 4.02

Author’s Description:

(Same as Amazon description.)

Book Trailer:

Press: